Public holidays in Serbia in 2021

Under the Law on State and Other Holidays in the Republic of Serbia ("Official Gazette of the RS", No. 43/2001, 101/2007 and 92/2011), non-working days are public holidays and religious holidays, while additionally non-working days are prescribed in depending on what religion the employees belong to.

Non-working holidays in 2021 for all religions:

  • New Year’s Day - 1 and 2 January (Friday and Saturday) (as 2nd is on Saturday this day is not relevant)
  • Julian Orthodox Christmas - 7 January (Thursday)
  • Serbian Statehood Day – 15 and 16 February (Monday - Tuesday)
  • Orthodox Easter Holidays – 30 April – 3 May (Friday - Monday)
  • May Day – 4 May (Tuesday)
  • Armistice Day - 11 November (Thursday)

Additionally, for Catholic, Protestants and other Christians than Orthodox the following days are non-working:

  • Catholic Easter Holidays – 2 April – 5 April (Friday – Monday)
  • Catholic Christmas Holidays – 25 December (Saturday) (as 25th December is on Saturday this days is not relevant) 

Additionally, for Orthodox, the following day is non-working:

“Slava” day, Home Saint (determined by each employee; same day each year). If this day fall on Sunday, it is not transferred to Monday.